There are three basic temperature scales:

Kelvin (K): Kelvin is the SI unit of temperature scale also known as the "absolute" temperature scale because temperatures cannot get any colder than 0 K.
Celsius (0C): Celsius is based upon the freezing and boiling of water (water freezes at 0 0C and boils at 100 0C (at sea level)).
Fahrenheit (0F): Fahrenheit is the common uinit of temperature in the United States.

Kelvin and Celsius are used in scientific calculations. It is important to be able to convert from one temperature scale to another. These conversions are:

Celsius to Kelvin: K = 0C + 273.15
Fahrenheit to Celsius: 0C = 5/9 (0F - 32)

Back to index
C101 Class Notes
Prof. N. De Leon